Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Heirloom Tomatoes are in season right now.  Their toothsome bright oranges, yellows, reds followed by a buttery texture and juicy flavour make these tomatoes one of my favourite treats of summer.

Last weeks Heirloom Tomato at Robin's Creek

Since giving up dairy the only thing that I’ve missed has been Insalata Caprese – heirloom tomatoes, basil, and buffalo mozzarella.  I could have eaten that salad everyday…actually in Costa Rica that’s pretty much all I ate since that seemed to be surprisingly the only vegetarian dish available at most restaurants – oh and margarita pizza!

I am delighted to share with you a recipe that has since quenched my desire for buffalo mozzarella and given me back my favourite Italian recipe. Although you may hesitate at the price of the main ingredient remember how much you would be willing to spend on a small brick of quality cheese and realize you’ll be getting 4 times the amount for the same price.

If you haven’t read the book The China Study by Dr. T. Colin Campbell be sure to pick it up for a course in cancer prevention based on three decades of research to prove that we become what we eat.  It’s news to a lot of people that animal products could actually be causing us harm read this article on Dr. Campbell’s website for more insight.  I choose to err on the side of caution reduce/eliminate animal products from my diet for ethical and health reasons – this is my choice and I don’t assume that everyone will feel the same way BUT you will enjoy this tasty healthier alternative!  I do however allow myself to indulge in a good quality cheese when I have a small glass of red wine and I’ve met the healthy happy animals that supplied the milk for the cheese.  When this happens I savour every bite!  This nut based recipe I can make whenever I get a craving and also pairs well with Quails Gate Rose (for a little dose of cancer starving resveratrol).  Enjoy on a patio somewhere this weekend you’ve still got time to culture your nuts!!

Maca Nut Mozza

Base Ingredients:
2 cups macadamia nuts soaked 6-8 hours
1 teaspoon probiotics
1 cup water

Flavour:
2 TBS nutritional yeast
1/2 tsp sea salt
1 tsp onion powder
1 tsp garlic powder
1/2 tsp fresh ground pepper

Method:

  • Disolve probiotics (needs to be at least 16 billion cell strength) in 1 cup of lukewarm water
  • Blend macadamia nuts and probiotic mixture in the food processor or blender until smooth
  • Remove mixture from blender and place in a strainer lined with cheese cloth.  Wrap the mixture with the cheese cloth and place a weight in top.  This will drain excess liquid so you can create a thicker cheese.
  • Place in a warm room for 12 hours to culture
  • Gently mix in spices and nutritional yeast – optional ingredients: fresh herbs – chives, rosemary, tarragon, basil, thyme, oregano
  • Roll into logs  – you can roll the logs in fresh herbs and pepper to coat.
  • slice into 2cm rounds and serve with slices of heirloom tomato, leaves of basil and a fig balsamic reduction.

DELICIOUS!

(This recipe is a modified version of: Macadamia Cheese Recipe p.126 in The Conscious Cook – Tal Ronnen)

