Tags

, , , , , ,

I am passionate about Kale.  I love that it’s chewy and filling… great in a salad and even better slightly steamed.  It’s comfort food for me.  There isn’t anything better than Kale with a creamy garlicy sauce.  I could eat it every day. 

Kale is a member of the cabbage/ cruciferous family.  It is actually the closest plant we have today that resembles the first wild cabbages.  It was praised by Hippocrates as “the vegetable of a thousand virtues”.  It’s no surprise that recent studies have found that eating cruciferous vegetables can decrease your risk of certain cancers by more than 40%.  Click this link for a list of research on cruciferous veg. http://aicr.convio.net/site/News2?keywords=cruciferous&submit=Go&scope=this&news_iv_ctrl=1131&cmd=search&entry=true (sorry the link option on wordpress was not working)

When I was first introduced to kale I was a little bit doubtful that I could make it taste palatable enough to eat regularly.  I started adding it to my morning Starve Cancer Elixirs and with a touch of lemon and ginger there was no bitterness.  I noticed that on the days that I didn’t add Kale to my smoothies I actually craved it later on in the day.  It was as if my body was telling me this is not a veggie I should just be eating for breakfast.  The first ‘cooked’ recipe I tried was Kale and Shitake stir-fry.  The buttery shitake and the chewy Kale mixed with ginger, garlic and tamari could easily take on any other stir-fry I had concocted.

The meaty, chewy, hardy, texture of kale lends it’s self nicely to warming autumn comfort foods.  BUT it also loves to be added to late summer salads – the best of both worlds for September.  Below I’ll give you my 2 favourite recipes for kale.

Summer Fresh Kale

Ingredients:

1 head of Kale (chopped and stems removed)
½ avocado
2 roma tomatoes (chopped)
½ red onion (chopped)
½ cup blue berries
½ cup mango (cubed)
1 lime (juiced)
½ teaspoon sea salt
2 tablespoons fresh mint (cut with scissors into thin stips)

Method:

Place kale, lime and sea salt into a mixing bowl.  Use your hands to massage the avocado, lime and sea salt into the kale so that it becomes a dressing and your hands get really soft.

Add remaining ingredients and toss lightly to coat. 

Serve with a gazpacho and warm corn tortillas   

Autumn Garlic Creamy Kale

Ingredients:
4 cups chopped kale (stems removed)
½ cup water
1 small sweet onion chopped
3 cloves crushed garlic
1/4 cup tahini
2 tablespoons nutritional yeast
1 teaspoon onion powder
2 teaspoon shiro miso paste
½ teaspoon cayenne powder

Method:

In a hot non stick pan place crushed garlic and chopped onion.  Let onion and garlic start to stick to the bottom of the pan.  Add 1 tablespoon of water to deglaze and loosen onions and garlic.  Turn heat down to medium.  Continue adding little bits of water and deglazing the pan until the onions and garlic are brown. Turn heat to medium low and add remaining ingredients stir to combine adding in 2-3 tablespoons of water to make creamy.  Add in kale and mix until completely coated and kale begins to wilt and get warm.  Remove from heat and serve on it’s own or on a bed of brown rice.

