Last weekend was magical.  Was so relaxing to spend a few days at my parents property ‘Robin’s Creek’ on Vancouver Island.  It’s paradise there and every time I  visit I can feel the fast paced hectic tension of the city slide right off my shoulders.

My parents are well on their way to being completely off grid.  For my mom’s birthday last month my Dad bought her a beautiful new green house so they can grow kale for most of the year!  He’s so handy he even built a beautiful table out of tile and pine to store all their gardening supplies.

 

We picked the last of the wild blackberries an did some foraging for chanterelle mushrooms in the enchanted forest.  Being out in nature is so healing. I breathed deep and sent that fresh air into all the corners of my body to nourish and heal.

In the last year my parents have decided to go plant-based and oil free.  I’m so proud of them they’ve really gotten on bandwagon and are constantly amazing me with new ways of revamping our favourite family recipes.  Here is my Mom’s new and improved starve cancer version of my great grandmothers hot cake recipe:

Great Grandma’s Hot Cakes – revised 🙂

Ingredients

Wet:
3 TBS apple sauce
3 TBS date paste
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 TBS ground flax
3 TBS water

Dry:
2/3 cup spelt
1/3 cup buckwheat
3 tsp baking powder
½ tsp sea salt

1 cup almond milk
blackberries

Method:

Preheat griddle or ban to 350 degrees or medium high heat.
Wisk together flax and water.
Mix together dry ingredients and wet ingredients separately
Add 1 cup of almond milk to wet ingredients alternating small amounts of dry so that the batter does not become lumpy.
Once thoroughly mixed add in black berries.
Pour puddles of batter onto griddle and cook for 4 min on each side.

Serve with hemp seeds, fresh berries, chopped banana, organic Canadian maple syrup.

 

Thanksgiving dinner was delicious!  Animal product free, no oil and no added sugar!

I hope you all had a wonderful Thanksgiving… there is so much to be thankful for.

For those of you in Vancouver get out and enjoy the beautiful sunshine today!  I’ll be down by the water soaking up some vitamin D and negative ions with my puppy love.

Eden

