You yourself, as much as anybody in the entire universe, deserve your love and affection.

Wise words from Buddha.

As much as we want love and affection from a partner, family or friends true love can only come from the love we have for ourselves. How can we expect others to love us completely if we don’t take the time to appreciate and love ourselves for who we truly are?  It’s a life long journey and in an effort to not sound cliché, learning to love ourselves for our idiosyncrasies should be an enjoyable part of our life’s journey. You are a wonderful person that deserves to be loved be you!

In the last little while I’ve really be taking this wisdom to heart.  It’s something I sure could have used in my teens and early 20’s – would have saved me from a lot of disappointment. Living from a truly authentic place and being proud of who I am has nurtured a deep love and connection for myself.  From this place of love and acceptance comes a confidence that I didn’t know I had.  It gives me the strength to take risks and open myself to receive love from others.

I express affection for myself by accepting myself for all of my flaws and accepting that I am human and making mistakes is part of the job of being human – it is the only way we grow.  In spite of all the crazy things I do I am proud of who I am and know that I am an intelligent, compassionate, kind person who deserves to be loved and am loved!

 

